Kate's Motel

What you don't know about your bedspread won't hurt you.

I Think I’ll Trick-Or-Treat Tomorrow, Too.

So here’s something you might not have known already:  Apartment complexes are crappy places to go trick-or-treating.

In our building alone, there are a total of 24 apartments.  Only one, that I know of, is empty.  In the complex itself, there are 12 buildings.  That’s 288 apartments.

(You’re probably reacting right now the same way I did when I figured it out. Holy shit, we’re getting a buttload of candy tonight!)  After the first two buildings (48 apartments) and exactly TWO PIECES of candy, Ryan and Andy and I were getting quite discouraged.  Apparently the days of trick-or-treating an entire neighborhood without the possibility of no one being home are gone.

By the time Ryan decided to give up on his candy this year, which I do believe is something approaching heresy amongst children under age 12, it was too late to find another neighborhood to hit.

Mom, if you’re reading this…PLEASE don’t call me to tell me that I should have done something.  I know I should have.  I DID do something.

When we got home, Ryan wanted to play in his Storm Trooper costume for just a while longer.  While he played his new video games, I gathered all the candy I had in the house (quite a lot) and dumped it all into the spare trick-or-treat pumpkin.  I went to his bedroom and shut the door and locked it.

Then I knocked.

Knocked again.

It wasn’t long before I heard his little voice call for me.

When he realized that he couldn’t open the door himself, HE knocked.

“Who is it?” I asked.
“Mama, it’s Ryan.”
“Ryan who?” *snicker*
“Ryan Lehman!!”

When I opened the door, he smiled at me and I asked him where his trick-or-treat bag was.  His eyes lit up and he made a mad dash to the other side of the apartment to find it.  I filled his bag with Pixy Sticks, Smarties, chocolates, gum, and even a fruit roll up or two.

He told me a few minutes ago that this was the best birthday.

I think I passed this one.

October 31, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. The adults hid in different rooms and we walked all over the neighborhood(aka the house) and knocked on the doors of all the houses(aka bedrooms) and got tons of candy.

    Um…yeah…that’s lazy.

    You totally rocked it better than I did!!!

    Happy b-day, Ryan!

    Comment by Bridget | October 31, 2009 | Reply

    • It was a split second decision that I wasn’t sure was even the right one, but I truly didn’t know what else to do!

      It’s times like these that I wish being a mom came with an instruction manual.

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yay! I’m glad he had a great birthday. I’m sorry Trick-or-Treating didn’t turn out the way you had hoped. It sounded like the perfect idea to me as well. If only there weren’t 4 hours between us we would have so gone together again this year!

    Comment by Liz Sanders | October 31, 2009 | Reply

    • I really missed walking through the neighborhood with you guys!

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. I am so glad he had a good day today!

    Comment by heather | October 31, 2009 | Reply

    • I was worried for a bit there…I didn’t plan on our neighborhood being so stingy with Halloween!

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Awe…..I wish the trick or treating had been better….But good job on the solution! I’m so glad he had the best birthday ever! Makes it all worthwhile, don’t you think?

    Love you!

    Comment by Mom | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I can only hope that I live up to the standard next year too 😛

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey Kate, I used to read your blog when it was on MS. I still keep up with your mom on Facebook. Glad to see you’re starting a new blog. I always enjoyed your writing and I’m looking forward to more! I have a new blog too. We have moved from Oklahoma City to Okinawa, Japan. I know, big move right? We can all thank the US Air Force for my grand new adventure!

    Comment by Annette | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Japan and everything in it is one of my secret obsessions…you have no idea how jealous I am 😛

      It’s good to see you here!

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. What an awesome write! I can imagine Ryan’s eys light up with the surprise you had for him. Great to feel the love and happiness you have for Ryan and he has for you:) Awesome Birthday Cake and celebration, again, this year for him.

    Comment by Jane | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I wish I could claim the birthday cake, but Publix gets the glory for this one this year 😛

      Thanks!

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

