Kate's Motel

What you don't know about your bedspread won't hurt you.

Mind Misbehaving 101

“A writer is a person who has taught their mind to misbehave.”

I love that.

Like the time I was waiting for mom in the parking lot at the bank and had convinced myself, inside of 15 minutes, that I desperately needed to get to the local police station as quickly as possible because since mom had walked through the front doors I’d not seen one person entering or leaving the building and that could only mean that everyone inside was being held hostage and it was up to me to save everyone by alerting the authorities.

I’d even decided what I needed to say to the policeman, should I get pulled over for speeding.

Or like the time that I actually DID call the police on a bunch of hoodlums that I assumed to be partaking in a bit of Grand Theft Auto (nevermind that it was only a golf cart I thought they were trying to steal), and nearly hyperventilated when I found out the hoodlums were Homeland Security. That was fun.

Or maybe even like the time that I was floating in that weird in-between place of dreaming and waking, and possibly imagined that there was a crazed man roaming the streets of my neighborhood screaming for everyone to hide their children somewhere in the vicinity of 2am. The more I think about this one, the more I think I may have actually been dreaming. But it felt real.

My mind misbehaves. It runs wild when no one is around, it fools me into thinking that watching The Shining at midnight is a spectacular idea, and if I’m not extra careful, it can make me depressed when I have absolutely no right to be. If I worked hard enough, I could probably convince myself that I’m psychic just because I picked the phone up before it rang when Liz called.

In an effort to train my misbehaving mind to maybe misbehave in a different direction…whichever direction book form needs to take, I’m going to steal a friends idea and write a blog every day for a year. Maybe nothing, maybe everything. Most of my best blogs in the past took their form once I got halfway through writing it. I”d like to be able to say that I am genius enough to have come up with them before I started writing, but I”m not that great of a liar. I didn’t know how I was going to write it until I was almost finished.

I can’t wait to see where this leads.

ps: The keyboard at work has a sticky shift key. PLease excuse my typos. πŸ˜›

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | On Writing | ,

9 Comments »

  1. If I remember correctly, that friend didn’t post another blog for months after he said that. Hope you didn’t just jinx yourself because I could use a daily dose of your misbehavin mind. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Janet Krueger | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I jinx myself daily. The REAL trick is to pretend the jinxes didn’t happen.

      That’s what I’m working on πŸ˜›

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great to see a graphic of the letter “K” again πŸ™‚

    This resonates with so much; that mind that refuses to behave; the dreams/reality on the boundary between sleep and awake …

    Great blog πŸ™‚

    Comment by Christian | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • When I opened up all my K’s, it felt good. I’m glad to be back πŸ™‚

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. My mind loses things all the time. I’m starting to become worried. :)~

    Comment by Sonya | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • That’s great. Now our minds can lose things together and because ignorance is bliss, we’ll just be stupidly happy for the rest of our lives.

      Put that way, it doesn’t seem so bad does it?

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. I occasionally do a month at at time…and it kills me by the end! Good luck!!! πŸ™‚

    Comment by queenofhaddock | November 1, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m hoping that I can pull it off.

      Maybe since I told everyone that I was doing it this way, I’ll be more obligated to actually follow through πŸ˜›

      Comment by Kate | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. You can doooooo it. My mind made me think you were psychic when you answered the phone before it even rang.

    Comment by Liz Sanders | November 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

