Kate's Motel

What you don't know about your bedspread won't hurt you.

Say Thank You Right Now Or You’ll Be Sorry…

I want to share with you what I found in my inbox this morning.

“Kate, in your dealing with others, if you haven’t already noticed: hoping for, expecting, or even asking for a simple ‘Thank You’ is often way out of the question. And quite frankly, bad form.

But that’s all right because, in a manner of speaking, ‘Thank You’s’ are my turf.  And I never miss one.

Your Faithful Servant,
The Universe”

Think back to the last time someone told you to “say thank you.”  If you’re like me, you have a family member that is famous for giving out guilt trips free of charge to anyone that is unlucky enough to have answered the phone because the caller id didn’t register that person’s name.

(Don’t crucify me, you know as well as I do that you avoid that one person because you just don’t want to hear about all the new ailments and illnesses, what they’re going to die from this week, and how sorry everyone needs to feel for them because they don’t have anyone to take care of them when all they really want is someone to wait on them hand and foot.  Every family has one of these people, whether they choose to claim them or not.)

My point is those are the consequences for demanding a Thank You.  You come across as uppity, self-centered, and greedy.  People start avoiding you.  Before you know it, you’ve lost a friend or two.  They’ll whisper and gossip behind your back and all you did to deserve it was expect some verbal appreciation for your efforts.

Let’s flip this card.

Someone did something for you and you DIDN’T say thank you.  Rest assured that it’s highly unlikely that person (or anyone they know) will ever do anything for you again without some payment required.  People don’t like to be taken advantage of.  Besides that, wronged folks have long memories and longer phone books.  They WILL tell your mutual acquaintances that you didn’t even say “thank you”.

Ouch.  Outcasted.

The best way to avoid both of these situations seems to be grossly apparent.  Say thank you when someone does something nice for you and yours.  It doesn’t hurt anyone.  It doesn’t cost anything.

If you want to receive daily Notes From the Universe, log onto http://www.tut.com and sign up for the daily newsletter.  I promise you’ll love it like I do.

November 2, 2009 - Posted by | advice | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Thank you!

    Comment by Janet Krueger | November 2, 2009 | Reply

    • You’re welcome 😛

      Comment by Kate | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thank-you for telling me I’m not going to die from not eating any candy.

    Oh and for just being my bestest friend.

    Comment by Liz Sanders | November 2, 2009 | Reply

    • If I haven’t killed myself by now with sweets and junk food, then YOU are going to be just fine. Cause I love you.

      Comment by Kate | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Thank you for being you….

    Comment by Mom | November 3, 2009 | Reply

    • I try 😛

      Comment by Kate | November 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ummm . . . “that one person.” I have more than one. Ugh! BTW, how do I put my picture on my comments. You know I’m a little slow with these things. *snicker* THANK YOU

    Comment by Sonya | November 4, 2009 | Reply

    • I think you have to sign up for a wordpress account. You don’t have to have a blog to have an account, tho, so it’s all good.

      Comment by Kate | November 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

