Kate's Motel

What you don't know about your bedspread won't hurt you.

You Can’t Hear My Secret

I can tell you a secret.

I can get it off my chest
have some redemption
throw away some guilt
fold it up small
and
shove it
where
the sun
don’t
shine.

I can show you
the
“forgotten”
corners of my heart
where the real me hides
hoping that no one
ever sees the truth
because what if it’s written all over my face and I’m the only one left that DOESN’T see that
everyone
already
knows…

I can take you
inside my Hell
where everything is my fault
and there is nothing I can do to fix any of it.
Where men hate
and women lie
and children cry
and the end
never
comes.

I can show you Love.
I can take you
to the place where love started
scared
excited
foolish and free
with leaves in my hair
and buttons misplaced…
the turning points of my life.

Decisions made and unmade.
I get to do that.

I can sing you my song
powerful
potent…
but you won’t hear it
because
you
don’t
know
it.

But I can still tell you a secret.

December 16, 2009 - Posted by | On Writing | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Kate, this was amazing.

    I related to all of it and loved the line about leaves in your hair and buttons misplaced – gorgeous.

    I’m so glad to get reconnected…

    Comment by Maven | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. awesomeness. xo

    Comment by Kim | December 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

