Kate's Motel

What you don't know about your bedspread won't hurt you.

I’m Not Convinced We’ve Wasted Enough Time On This.

The phone conversation I just had:

Me- “Thank you for calling ‘Kate’s Motel’, this is Kate, how may I help you?

Them- (in thick eastern Indian accent) “May I speak with the manager Michelle, please?”

Me- “I’m sorry, she is not here this morning, is there something I can help you with?”

Them- “Well the reason for why I am calling we are offering (unintelligible) magazine to your property for first issue being complimentary and receive to your property remaining issues and what address I can send first issue which is complimentary?”

(No lie, the man spoke in a run on sentence just like that.)

Me- “Um……what?”

Them- “What is address?  First issue is complimentary.”

Me- “Oh, I get it.  Yeah, I’m not authorized to make those decisions.  What is your telephone number so I can have Michelle return your call?”

Them- “First issue is complimentary.”

Me- “I know that.  But I’m not going to get fired for accepting a magazine subscription that I wasn’t authorized to accept.”

Them- “So I am going to put down here that you are afraid…”

Me- “Wait!  You’re not listening to me.  I. Am. Not. In. A. Position. Of. Authority. To. Make. That. Decision.”

Them- “But first issue is complimentary.”

Me- “That’s fine.”

Them- “So that’s fine I can send complimentary issue? What is address?”

Me- “No!  Just give me your phone number so I can have Michelle call you back.”

Them- “Ummmm…”

Me- “You know, a phone number that you or someone at your company can be reached at.”

Them- “Ummmm…”

Me- “Are you not allowed to give the number out?”
Them- “Oh yes, I can give you the telephone number.”

Me- “Great.  What is it?”

Them- “Ummmm…”

Me- “Do you not know the number?”

Them- “Oh yes, I know what the number is.”

Me- “Great.  What is it?”

Them- “Ummmm…”

Me- “Look.  If you’re not going to give me the number, I really have to go.  I have guests waiting on me.”

Them- “First issue is complimentary.”

Me- “Good luck with that…”

(click)

September 8, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Ha! Don’t ya just love it…I particularly like the “So I am going to put down here that you are afraid…”

    Who would have thought we needed a 12 step program for people “afraid” to accept complimentary first issues of magazines.

    Comment by cynthia | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. haha you’ll have that with all our jobs being outsourced.You should have told him you would mark down he was afraid to give out his number lmao

    Comment by mischelle | September 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment